Local Heroes

Posted on in Local Heroes, News

Flood Re announces shortlist for Local Heroes Award

One of the six finalists will receive £10,000 to invest in their community

Flood Re has today announced the shortlist for its Local Heroes award. An expert panel of six judges considered nominations from across the country before agreeing on a final shortlist of six, who each stand a chance of taking home the title of Local Hero and £10,000 to invest in their local communities.

The judges are now tasked with selecting the national winner and five runners-up. They will be announced by Minister for Flooding Thérèse Coffey MP at a reception in the Palace of Westminster on 28 November.

Ten years ago, in the summer of 2007, floods shook communities across the country. Flood Re’s Local Heroes award recognises individuals, community groups and local flood action groups that have shown leadership and resilience around flood relief efforts since then. The shortlist is made up of two flood groups and four individuals, who are:

  • Shipston Area Flood Group, Shipston-on-Stour, Warwickshire
  • Southwell Flood Forum, Southwell, Nottinghamshire
  • Steve Ackrill, Great Shefford, Berkshire
  • Geraldine Brown, Maidstone, Kent
  • Bob Haddon, Shifnal, Shropshire
  • Lynne Jones, Keswick, Cumbria

The national winner will be awarded a £10,000 fund to go towards their local community’s response to flooding or a local flood relief charity of their choice. The award is sponsored by Covéa Insurance and NFU Mutual.

Andy Bord, Chief Executive of Flood Re and Chair of the judging panel, said: “We read many inspiring stories during the judging process, which meant that narrowing it down to six entrants was a difficult task. However, we believe that those who have made it onto the shortlist represent some of the very best examples of how people respond to the impacts of flooding.

 “On behalf of the panel I’d like to thank everyone who took the time to make a nomination. We are also grateful to Covéa Insurance and NFU Mutual for their generous support of the competition.”